RSS

Monotonous, but could be worse, Monday

28 Feb

Every year, I face the same quandary: watch the Oscars or participate in some more meaningful, entertaining and/or fulfilling activity?  Every year, the Oscars wins and every year I sit, for four hours, wishing I was doing something else.  This year had the added bonus of many, many shots of Colin Firth’s face, but even this was not enough to overcome the horrific hosting and boring content.

All of you can be thankful that I watched, though, because as I watched, I cross-stitched.  Yes, that means four whole hours of work added to the week’s progress!  Just in time for the Monotonous Monday update!

“Wow,” you think, “she must have really made a dent in all that sky stitching she was working on!  Maybe there’ll be some colour added this week!”

That’s right.  I spent all week, plus four hours of the Oscars stitching only in white.  White.  For a week.  Sorry friends.  Even the most exciting of Mondays are still seriously monotonous when they involve giant cross-stitching projects.

I didn’t do any other crafts this week, but when I came across this next craft suggestion a few weeks ago, I was reassured that my blog really does have a purpose in life.  Generally I am pretty tolerant about stupid crafts if they bring a little joy to your life in some way.  Perhaps, after revealing my friendship bracelet obsession I am in no position to judge.  But I can’t resist!!  This craft simply oozes stupid.  I have absolutely no respect for this craft.

Here we go.

T-Shirt Pom-Poms.  Yes.  The blogger, who seems like an otherwise perfectly normal, tasteful individual, whose careful and instructive tutorials are much more detailed than mine, admits that this craft makes a big mess, so be warned, over-eager crafters.  Keep a broom handy.

What are T-shirt pom-poms?  Essentially, you take a perfectly good t-shirt, that even if you don’t wear it anymore, could have been given to someone less fortunate, or worn for cleaning, painting, camping etc.. or could be turned into a perfectly good cleaning rag, and make it into a seasonal decor item.

Not even an especially impressive seasonal decor item.  Just something you hang on your front door for Valentine’s Day, as suggested by the blogger, and then take it down, say, on February 16th.  So you might get perhaps, at most, two weeks of “use” out of said seasonal decor item, then you must pack it away in storage for the next love-themed-quasi-holiday.  Or, if you live in the frozen North (aka Canada or anywhere with snow), you bring in your T-shirt-cum-pom-pom after two weeks to find a tattered, frozen snowball hanging off of an iced-over ribbon. 

Why-oh-why? (rhetorical cry of despair)

Even though it is a waste of good shirts, I dare you to make one and hang it on your door.  Do it.

Your reward? How about a friendship bracelet?

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Monotonous, but could be worse, Monday

  1. Anne

    March 3, 2011 at 2:36 AM

    BAHAHAHAHAHA. I DOUBLE DARE YOU.

     

Leave a comment