RSS

Idea theft, Procrastination and Monotonous Monday

07 Feb

It appears that my blogging attempts are as unoriginal as the crafts I blog about.  I was reading the Globe and Mail the other day and came across this article: a more humorous and well-written version of my insights, published in a national paper.  Sigh.  At least I don’t plan on taking up knitting anytime soon.

All my well-laid plans to write two blog posts last week failed abominably– I don’t even have an excuse.  I do have a simple craft idea for you, though, which I learned from my grandmother when I was a kid.

Some years ago, when I lived on a very restricted budget, I didn’t have money for things like embroidery, cross-stitching and baking.  What I did have was time between split shifts, a notebook I found in the bargain bin at the stationery store and some felt pens and pencil crayons (I believe L would call these markers and coloured pencils).  This is the most relaxing activity ever.

Here is what you do.  Take a pencil or a pen, and draw a squiggle over the whole page, joining the beginning and end of the squiggle after awhile.  For a simple pattern do wide, curving loops that only overlap a few times.  If you want to spend the next several hours/days colouring, do a crazy squiggle that overlaps itself all over the place.

Go over your squiggle with a black felt or black pencil crayon (or some other darkish colour).

Then pick some colours out of your felts/pencil crayons.  I usually choose coordinating colours or rainbow colours, but I’m sure you have more imaginative suggestions.  Then colour in all the little bubbles your squiggle created.  I always try to make it so that the same colour isn’t inside of two adjacent bubbles.  Here are some examples of past work:

Has anyone made these before?  I actually really love how they look when they are finished

Finally, here is the monotonous Monday update.  Can you spot what  is new this week?

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Idea theft, Procrastination and Monotonous Monday

  1. Anne

    February 10, 2011 at 1:28 AM

    Those squiggle pictures were a major flaw in my childhood. For years, I thought the word “design” meant those pictures. And only those pictures. I thought that the word “design” had no application beyond those pictures. Needless to say I was pretty much confused for a good eleven years.

     
    • stupidcrafts

      February 10, 2011 at 7:41 AM

      Egregious error. I should make a new blog called “How I f*cked up my sister’s childhood.”

       
  2. Anne

    February 10, 2011 at 11:25 PM

    Lol, I would be into that.

     

Leave a comment